Menu Close

The Belgian Data Protection Authority assesses in this decision a processing carried out by an autonomous agency active in the tourism sector which has placed smart cameras in order to provide a count of passers-by at specific places in order to limit gatherings of the epidemic. of Covid-19.

Here the Authority examines in particular whether this processing is justified by a sufficient and adequate legal basis and whether the principles of data protection by design and by default are respected. The authority also examines whether sufficiently transparent information concerning this processing is provided to the data subjects.

Facts :

1 / The defendant is an autonomous agency created by the province of West Flanders which is active in the tourism sector.

2 / This entity has decided to place smart cameras in order to provide a count of passers-by at specific locations (on the dike) as part of the measures taken to combat the Covid-19 epidemic.

3 / To achieve this goal, the defendant launched a public contract on behalf of the coastal municipalities which was awarded on June 9, 2020 to company X, which acts as a subcontractor (in terms of data protection staff.).

4 / An investigation has been opened by the Data Protection Authority because there are serious risks that the use of smart cameras by the defendant could give rise to a violation of the fundamental principles of the protection of personal data.

The inspection service concludes as follows:

1) The inspectorate finds a violation by the defendant of the principles of legality, proportionality and transparency as well as of the principle of data minimization. The Inspectorate first declares that the responding party does not adequately demonstrate that the data subjects are correctly (and transparently) informed about the processing and that it is not sufficiently demonstrated by the responding party that the processing is proportional, relevant and adequate.

2) The inspection service also finds a violation of article 6.1 GDPR and is of the opinion that the defendant does not demonstrate why it is necessary for the performance of its public interest mission to process personal data via smart cameras.

3) The inspection service determines that the information provided by the defendant through its privacy statement published on the site www.westtoer.be/nl/data treatment is not complete, correct and transparent.

4) The Inspectorate determines that the impact assessment carried out by the defending party does not comply with the requirements of the GDPR and that the data protection officer has not been sufficiently involved in this process.

5) The Inspectorate also makes a number of additional observations, outside the scope of serious violations, in particular:

- the use of cookies on the website and the consent do not comply with the GDPR.

- the register of the processing activities of the defendant is not complete.

- the data protection officer is not employed full time and does not report directly to the highest official of the defendant.

Controversial :

- What requirements must be met (by the controller) regarding the lawfulness of the processing of personal data via a smart camera system within the meaning of Article 6 of the GDPR. ?

- Is an intelligent system of cameras that involves a passers-by counting system and where passers-by are blurred after one second before data transfer respects the principles of data protection by default and by design (Article 25 of the GDPR) ?

- What obligations must a data controller fulfill (in this context) in terms of transparency and information to data subjects?

Findings of the Litigation Chamber:

: 1) The legal basis is sufficient for the intended processing.

A full review of the legal basis is not carried out by the Litigation Chamber which concludes that the defendant plausibly argues that the processing is necessary for the performance of a task of public interest.

The Litigation Chamber specifies that it is mainly the task of the authorities at whose request the processing is carried out - in this case, the province of West Flanders and the coastal municipalities concerned - to ensure that a legal basis in force meets the requirements requirements of article 6.3 of the GDPR.

On the other hand, the Litigation Chamber recalls that it is the responsibility of the processing manager, as the defendant, to verify to what extent an adequate legal basis is provided to justify the processing. In this decision, the Litigation Chamber limits itself to these general considerations as the legal basis for processing.

2) The processing is proportional and necessary to fulfill the purpose

The defendant proves that the processing meets the principles of necessity and proportionality with a view to its implementation and its purpose in that the defendant succeeds in demonstrating the absence of a less intrusive alternative system which would also achieve the same Goals.

3) Data protection by default and by design:

The Litigation Chamber concludes that the defendant has included data protection by default and from the design stage at an early stage in the design of processing operations, in particular, through the inclusion of appropriate technical and organizational measures from the launch of the market. public.

In practice, the defendant (via the subcontractor who won the public contract) has opted for an autonomous system, not connected to a network, in which the processing of personal data by means of video equipment is reduced to a minimum and no other personal data is processed.

4) Transparency of processing:

The privacy policy and the defendant's register are not entirely complete, but given the cooperation of the defendant and the modification of its confidentiality statement during the proceedings, the Litigation Chamber does not consider it necessary to '' impose a penalty but order the defendant to comply.

5) Other remarks:

The Litigation Chamber considers that the way in which the defendant justifies the processing of personal data on its website is not sufficient and that the data protection officer does not report to the highest level of management.

Decision:

The Data Protection Authority:

- notes that the smart camera system implemented by the defendant does not violate Article 5.1 a), b) and c) and complies with Article 25 of the GDPR;

- orders the defending party to complete the information it provides on its processing in its privacy statement in accordance with Articles 12 and 13 of the GDPR, in particular with regard to the additional information requested from the data subject in the context of a request on the basis of Articles 15 to 21 of the GDPR.

- orders the defendant to align its register of processing activities with the requirements of Article 30 of the GDPR and in particular to specify to which third countries the transfer of personal data takes place within one month after notification of this decision.

- Formulates a reprimand against the defendant for violation of articles 6.1 a), 7.1, 7.3 (validity of consent at the level of cookies) and 38.3 of the GDPR (the data protection officer must give his opinions directly to the highest level of management of the controller).

You have questions relating to this subject, do not hesitate to contact me by sending me an email. at the address indicated in the “contact” section.

More information :

APD / GBA - 24/2021 - GDPRhub

Sources :

Nl_Advies.dotm (autoriteprotectiondonnees.be)

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Menu Fermer

L’Autorité de protection des données belge évalue dans cette décision un traitement effectué par une régie autonome active dans le secteur du tourisme qui a placé des caméras intelligentes afin de fournir un décompte des passants à des endroits spécifiques afin de limiter les rassemblements l’épidémie de Covid-19.

Ici l’Autorité examine en particulier si ce traitement se justifie par une bases légale suffisante et adéquate et si les principes de protection des données dès la conception et par défaut sont respéctés. L’autorité regarde également si une information suffisamment transparente concernant ce traitement est fournie aux personnes concernées.

Les faits :

1 / La défenderesse est une régie autonome créée par la province de Flandre occidentale qui est active dans le secteur du tourisme.

2 / Cette entité a décidé de placer des caméras intelligentes afin de fournir un décompte des passants à des endroits précis (sur la digue) dans le cadre des mesures prises pour combattre l’épidémie Covid-19.

3 / Pour atteindre ce but, la défenderesse a lancé un marché public pour le compte des communes côtières qui a été attribué le 9 juin 2020 à la société X, qui fait office de sous-traitant (au niveau de la protection des données à caractère personnel.).

4 / Une enquête a été ouverte par l’Autorité de protection des données car il existe des risques sérieux que l’utilisation de caméras intelligentes par la défenderesse puisse donner lieu à une violation des principes fondamentaux de la protection des données à caractère personnel.

Le service d’inspection conclut ce qui suit :

1) Le service d’inspection constate une violation par la partie défenderesse des principes de légalité, de proportionnalité et de transparence ainsi que du principe de minimisation des données. L’Inspection déclare tout d’abord que la partie défenderesse ne démontre pas de manière adéquate que les personnes concernées sont correctement (et de manière transparente) informées du traitement et qu’il n’est pas suffisamment démontré par la partie défenderesse que le traitement est proportionnel, pertinente et adéquat.

2) Le service d’inspection constate également une violation de l’article 6.1 RGPD et est d’avis que le défendeur ne démontre pas pourquoi il est nécessaire pour l’accomplissement de sa mission d’intérêt public de traiter des données à caractère personnel via des caméras intelligentes.

3) Le service d’inspection détermine que les informations fournies par la partie défenderesse par le biais de sa déclaration de confidentialité publiée sur le site www.westtoer.be/nl/data traitement ne sont pas complètes, correctes et transparentes.

4) L’Inspection détermine que l’analyse d’impact effectuée par la partie défenderesse n’est pas conforme aux exigences du RGPD et que le délégué à la protection des données n’a pas été suffisamment impliqué dans ce processus.

5) L’Inspection fait également un certain nombre d’observations complémentaires, en dehors du champ des violations graves, notamment:

– l’utilisation de cookies sur le site Web et le consentement ne sont pas conformes au RGPD.

– le registre des activités de traitement du défendeur n’est pas complet.

– le délégué à la protection des données n’est pas employé à plein temps et ne relève pas directement du plus haut responsable de la partie défenderesse.

Controverse :

– Quelles exigences doivent-elles être remplies (par le responsable du traitement) concernant la licéité du traitement des données à caractère personnel via un système de caméras intelligentes au sens de l’article 6 du RGPD. ?

– Est qu’un système intelligent de caméras qui implique un système de comptage des passants et où les passants sont floutés après une seconde avant le transfert des données respecte les principes de protection des données par défaut et dès la conception (article 25 du RGPD) ?

– Quelles obligations un responsable du traitement doit-il remplir (dans ce contexte) en terme de transparence et d’information aux personnes concernées ?

Constatations de la Chambre Contentieuse :

:1) La base juridique est suffisante pour le traitement envisagé.

Un examen complet de la base juridique n’est pas effectué par la Chambre Contentieuse qui conclut que la partie défenderesse fait valoir de manière plausible que le traitement est nécessaire à l’accomplissement d’une mission d’intérêt public.

La Chambre Contentieuse précise que c’est principalement la tâche des autorités à la demande desquelles les traitements sont effectués – dans ce cas, la province de Flandre occidentale et les communes côtières concernées- de veiller à ce qu’une base légale en vigueur réponde aux exigences de l’article 6.3 du RGPD.

Par contre la Chambre Contentieuse rappelle qu’il incombe responsable du traitement, en tant que partie défenderesse de vérifier dans quelle mesure une base légale adéquate est fournie pour justifier le traitement. Dans cette décision, la Chambre du Contentieuse se limite à ces considérations générales la base légale du traitement.

2) Le traitement est proportionnel et nécessaire pour remplir la finalité

La partie défenderesse prouve que le traitement répond aux principes de nécessité et de proportionnalité en vue de sa mise en œuvre et de sa finalité en ce que la partie défenderesse réussit à démontrer l’absence d’un système alternatif moins intrusif qui atteindrait également les mêmes objectifs.

3) Protection des données par défaut et dès la conception:

La Chambre Contentieuse conclut que la partie défenderesse a inclus la protection des données par défaut et dès la conception à un stade précoce de la conception des opérations de traitement, notamment, grâce à l’inclusion de mesures techniques et organisationnelles appropriées dès le lancement du marché public.

En pratique la partie défenderesse (via le sous-traitant qui a remporté le marché public) a opté pour un système autonome, non connecté à un réseau, dans lequel le traitement des données personnelles au moyen d’un équipement vidéo est réduit au minimum et aucunes autres données à caractère personnel ne sont traitées.

4) Transparence du traitement :

La politique de confidentialité et le registre de la partie défenderesse ne sont pas entièrement complets, mais compte tenu de la coopération de la partie défenderesse et de la modification de sa déclaration de confidentialité au cours de la procédure, la Chambre Contentieuse ne juge pas nécessaire d’infliger une sanction mais ordonne à la partie défenderesse de se mettre en conformité.

5) Autres remarques:

La Chambre Contentieuse estime que la manière dont le défendeur justifie le traitement des données à caractère personnel sur son site Internet n’est pas suffisante et que le délégué à la protection des données ne fait pas rapport au plus haut niveau de direction.

Décision :

L’Autorité de protection des données :

– constate que le système de caméras intelligentes mis en œuvre par la partie défenderesse ne viole pas l’article 5.1 a), b) et c) et est conforme à l’article 25 du RGPD;

– ordonne à la partie défenderesse de compléter les informations qu’elle fournit sur ses traitements dans sa déclaration de confidentialité conformément aux articles 12 et 13 du RGPD, notamment en ce qui concerne les informations complémentaires demandées à la personne concernée dans le cadre d’une demande sur la base des articles 15 à 21 du RGPD.

– ordonne à la partie défenderesse d’aligner son registre des activités de traitement sur les exigences de l’article 30 du RGPD et notamment de préciser vers quels pays tiers le transfert de données à caractère personnel a lieu dans le délai d’un mois après la notification de cette décision.

– Formule une réprimande à l’encontre de la partie défenderesse pour violation des articles 6.1 a), 7.1, 7.3 (validité du consentement au niveau de cookies) et 38.3 du RGPD (le délégué à la protection des données doit rendre ses avis directement au plus haut niveau de direction du responsable du traitement).

Vous avez questions relatives à ce sujet, n’hésitez pas à me contacter en m’envoyant un courriel. à l’adresse indiquée dans la section “contact”.

Plus d’informations :

APD/GBA – 24/2021 – GDPRhub

Sources :

Nl_Advies.dotm (autoriteprotectiondonnees.be)

fr_FRFrançais