Menu Close

The European Court of Justice has invalidated this Thursday the mechanism allowing the transfer of personal data between the UEuropean Union and the United States. which is known as "Privacy Shield ”.

The American surveillance laws do not comply with the requirements of the GDPR.

The Court indicated in its judgment C-311/18 that the American laws on surveillance are in contradiction with the fundamental rights of the EU and that the Privacy Shield does not therefore guarantee adequate protection of personal data in the United States. United according to EU standards.

Indeed, the United States limits interference against the privacy of American citizens (or similar), but does not sufficiently protect the personal data of foreign persons against intrusions by the NSA. (National Surveillance Agency).

Furthermore, since the NSA (and other supervisory bodies in the United States) does not declare which companies, individuals or organizations are subject to supervisory measures, there is therefore no means for them to do so. data subjects to exercise their rights in the event of abuse.

According to Max Schrems, a data protection activist behind the procedure (and also behind the invalidation of the previous mechanism, namely the Safe Harbor):

The court has clarified for the second time now that there is a conflict between EU privacy law and US surveillance law. As the EU will not change its basic rights to satisfy the NSA, the only way to overcome this conflict is for the United States to introduce strong privacy rights for everyone, including foreigners. " 

The European Commission has not carried out a sufficient assessment of the adequacy of the Privacy Shield compared to EU standards.

The above-mentioned judgment also makes it clear that the European Commission would not have undertaken an in-depth evaluation of the Privacy Shield before validating it.

Herwig Hofmann, professor of law at the University of Luxembourg and one of the lawyers pleading Schrems' cases before the CJEU: “The CJEU has overturned the second Commission decision violating the EU's fundamental data protection rights. There can be no transfer of data to a country where there are forms of mass surveillance. As long as US law gives its government the power to access data from people in the EU transiting to the United States, these instruments will be repeatedly invalidated. The Commission's acceptance of US mass surveillance laws in the Privacy Shield decision has left them helpless.

The authorities responsible for the protection of personal data have the "duty to act" and the use of standard contractual clauses is not the silver bullet.

The Court agreed with Mr Schrems' opinion that it is only on the condition that the law of the recipient third country is not incompatible with European law that the CCTs (Standard contractual clauses validated by the Commission - SCC in English) ) can still be used to make transfers abroad. (As a valid alternative to a Commission adequacy decision).

Consequently, the use of CCT is not prohibited but must be subject to control (depending on the recipient country) to ensure its effectiveness.

According to Max Schrems: “ L''The judgment clearly states that companies can no longer be content to use CCTs but must also check whether CCTs can be observed in practice in the recipient country.

A Data Protection Authority theoretically has the duty to order a company to stop transfers if the standard contractual clauses cannot be respected ”.

Data transfers “necessary” to the United States can continue

Despite the invalidations pronounced by the judgment, absolutely necessary data transfers can continue on the basis of Article 49 of the GDPR. (Transfers that cannot be made on the basis of an adequacy decision, CCT or binding corporate rules - according to articles 45 and 46 of the GDPR)

Any situation where users explicitly want their personal data to be transferred abroad is still legal, since this can take place on the basis of the user's informed consent, which can be withdrawn at any time.

Similarly, the GDPR allows data transfers when necessary for the performance of a contract. It is a solid legal basis for most transactions in the United States.

Conclusion

It remains to be seen what impact this judgment will have in practice for American companies and in particular the GAFAMs and whether the American government will modify its surveillance laws in order to regain the status of a privileged partner of the EU. (At the level of personal data transfers).

You have questions relating to this subject, do not hesitate to contact me by sending me an email.

Sources: https://noyb.eu/en/cjeu,; www.curia.europa.eu

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Menu Fermer

La CJUE invalide le “Privacy Shield”. (Schrems II)

La Cour de justice européenne a invalidé ce jeudi le mécanisme permettant le transfert de données à caractère personnel entre l’Union européenne et les États-Unis. qui est connu sous le nom de « Privacy Shield ».

Les lois de surveillance américaines ne sont pas conformes au prescrit du RGPD.

La Cour a indiqué dans son arrêt C-311/18 que les lois américaines sur la surveillance sont en contradiction avec les droits fondamentaux de l’UE et que le Privacy Shield ne garantit donc pas une protection adéquate des données à caractère personnelle aux Etats-Unis selon les standards de l’UE.

En effet, les États-Unis limitent les ingérences contre le respect de la vie privée des citoyens américains (ou assimilés), mais ne protègent pas suffisamment les données à caractère personnel des personnes étrangères contre les intrusions de la NSA. (National Surveillance Agency).

Par ailleurs, comme la NSA (et d’autres organismes de surveillance aux Etats-Unis) ne déclare pas quelles entreprises, quelles personnes ou quelles organisations font l’objet de mesures de surveillance, il n’y a par conséquent aucun moyens pour les personnes concernées d’exercer leurs droits en cas d’abus.

Selon Max Schrems, activiste militant pour la protection des données à l’origine de la procédure (et également à l’origine de l’invalidation du mécanisme précédent à savoir le Safe Harbor) :

La Cour a clarifié pour la deuxième fois maintenant qu’il y a un conflit entre la législation européenne sur la vie privée et la législation américaine sur la surveillance. Comme l’UE ne modifiera pas ses droits fondamentaux pour satisfaire la NSA, la seule façon de surmonter ce conflit est que les États-Unis introduisent des droits solides en matière de vie privée pour tous, y compris les étrangers. “

La Commission européenne n’aurait pas procédé à une évaluation suffisante de l’adéquation du Privacy Shield par rapport aux standards de l’UE.

L’arrêt susmentionné indique également clairement que la Commission européenne n’aurait pas entrepris d’évaluation approfondie du Privacy Shield avant de le valider.

Herwig Hofmann, professeur de droit à l’Université du Luxembourg et l’un des avocats plaidant les affaires de Schrems devant la CJUE : “La CJUE a invalidé la deuxième décision de la Commission violant les droits fondamentaux de l’UE en matière de protection des données. Il ne peut y avoir de transfert de données vers un pays où il existe des formes de surveillance de masse. Tant que la législation américaine donnera à son gouvernement le pouvoir d”acceder aux données de personnes dans l’UE transitant vers les États-Unis, ces instruments seront invalidés à maintes reprises. L’acceptation par la Commission des lois américaines en matière de surveillance de masse dans la décision “Privacy Shield” les a laissées sans défense”.

Les autorités chargées de la protection des données à caractère personnel ont le “devoir d’agir” et l’utilisation de clauses contractuelles types n’est pas la solution miracle.

La Cour a rejoint l’avis de M. Schrems selon lequel c’est seulement à la condition que la loi du pays tiers destinataire ne soit pas incompatible avec le droit européen que les CCT (Clauses contractuelles type validées par la Commission – SCC en Anglais) puissent toujours être utilisées pour effectuer des transferts à l’étranger. (En tant qu’alternative valable à une décision d’adéquation de la Commission).

Par conséquent l’usage de CCT n’est pas proscrit mais devra être soumis à un contrôle (en fonction du pays destinataire) pour assurer son effectivité.

Selon Max Schrems : “Larrêt indique clairement que les entreprises ne peuvent plus se contenter d’utiliser les CCT, mais doivent également vérifier si les CCT peuvent être respectés en pratique dans le pays destinataire.

Une Autorité de protection des données à théoriquement le devoir d’ordonner à une entreprise d’arrêter les transferts si les clauses contractuelles types ne peuvent pas être respectées”.

Les transferts de données « nécessaires » vers les Etats-Unis peuvent continuer

En dépit des invalidations prononcées par le jugement, les transferts de données absolument nécessaires peuvent continuer sur base de l’Article 49 du RGPD. (Transferts qui ne peuvent être effectués sur base d’une décision d’adéquation, de CCT ou de binding corporate rules – selon les articles 45 et 46 du RGPD)

Toute situation où les utilisateurs veulent explicitement que leurs données à caractère personnel soient transférées à l’étranger est encore légale, puisque que cela peut avoir lieu sur base d’un consentement informé de l’utilisateur, qui peut être retiré à tout moment.

De même, le RGPD permet les transferts de données lorsque cela est nécessaire pour l’exécution d’un contrat. C’est une base juridique solide pour la plupart des transactions aux Etats-Unis.

Conclusion

Il reste à voir quel impact cet arrêt aura en pratique pour les entreprises américaines et notamment les GAFAM et si le gouvernement américain modifiera ses lois de surveillance afin de retrouver un statut de partenaire privilégié de l’UE. (Au niveau des transferts de données à caractère personnel).

Vous avez questions relatives à ce sujet, n’hésitez pas à me contacter en m’envoyant un courriel.

Sources : https://noyb.eu/en/cjeu, ; www.curia.europa.eu

Please follow and like us:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)