Menu Close

The Belgian APD has just imposed a fine of 50,000 euros for various GDPR breaches to the company called "National service for the promotion of children's brands" or " Family Service ”(on its website), a company that distributes "pink boxes" to pregnant mothers.

Offenses include the company's lack of transparency towards its customers regarding its data sales activities (via transfers to its network of business partners) and the lack of valid consent.

Context:

The defendant is a marketing company which distributes "pink boxes" to consumers. These boxes include samples, specials and information sheets for expectant parents (especially pregnant mothers). The offers and samples contained in the “pink boxes” were made available to the Respondent through the Respondent's network of partners.

Regarding the personal data of (future) mothers collected by the defendant when new consumers registered, this was the following data: mother's name, mother's first name, baby's date of birth, baby's gender, baby's name, email address, street and house number, zip code and city.

These personal data were then transmitted by the defendant to third parties (so-called “structural business partners”) in exchange for the aforementioned offers and samples. These business partners were in effect data brokers who processed the data for marketing campaigns and sold it to other third parties.

Facts :

The complainant had completed a registration form with the respondent - in order to receive a pink box - by which she authorized the processing of her personal data.

The complainant subsequently decided to withdraw her consent as she no longer wished to be contacted by third parties regarding promotions of childcare products.

However, even after withdrawing her consent, the Complainant still received unwanted phone calls from the Respondent's business partners in connection with certain promotions.

The complainant then decided to lodge a complaint with the Belgian data protection authority, alleging that the respondent had transferred his personal data to third parties, including data brokers, without having obtained his valid consent and without provide sufficient information in relation to the treatment (s) envisaged by the defendant and the third parties to whom his data was transferred.

Discussion:

The discussion in this decision revolves mainly around the (lack) of information given by the defendant on the sale and processing of personal data by its network of business partners as well as on the scope and (lack of) validity of the consent. given in relation to the treatment (s).

Decision:

The inspection service and the litigation chamber of the Belgian DPA considered that the following violations were committed by the defendant:

1) Lack of information and transparency on the treatment (s) envisaged.

The defendant infringed Article 5 (1) (a) of the GDPR as well as Article 13 (lack of transparency) because the defendant was renting and / or selling personal data of consumers for commercial purposes (through its partners commercial) without informing consumers of these treatments in a clear and understandable manner.

An aggravating factor is the fact that the “pink boxes” were distributed via gynecologists and hospitals combined, which could have led clients to believe that the initiative came from the public sector, and not from a private company whose core business is the trade in personal data.

2) Lack of valid consent to process the data.

Article 6 of the GDPR, in particular Article 6 (1) (a) and (f) of the GDPR (free consent) was also violated by the respondent, as there could not be free, specific, informed consent and unambiguously given by consumers since this consent was:

a) - clearly not informed / informed (on further processing by the network of partners);

b) - non-specific (consent to receive boxes automatically implied the transfer of data);

c) - not free (because the absence of consent entailed the loss of certain advantages).

3) Lack of appropriate technical and organizational measures and disproportionate retention period.

Violation of article 25 of the GDPR, given that the defendant has not taken the appropriate technical and organizational measures to ensure that only the personal data necessary for each specific purpose of the processing are processed.

The 18-year retention period is disproportionate to the initial consent and reasonable expectations of the complainant and other affected parties.

For the rest, the defendant had not concluded the necessary subcontracts.

Sanctions:

Given the number of people concerned (the company processes data relating to 21.10% of the Belgian population), the seriousness of the violation and the nature of the data processed (in particular data relating to children), the litigation chamber decided to fine the defendant 50,000 euros on the defendant and ordered the company to comply with the GDPR within 6 months.

You have questions relating to this subject, do not hesitate to contact me by sending me an email. at the address indicated in the “contact” section.

More information :

APD / GBA - 04/2021 - GDPRhub

ODA puts a brake on the trade in personal data linked to the famous “pink boxes” | Data protection authority (autoriteprotectiondonnees.be)

Belgian DPA imposed € 50,000 Fine on Family Service | European Data Protection Board (europa.eu

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Menu Fermer

L’APD belge vient d’imposer une amende de 50.000 euros pour diverses infractions au RGPD à l’entreprise dénommée “Service national de promotion des marques enfantines” ou encore “Family Service” (sur son site), une société qui distribue des «boîtes roses » aux mamans enceintes.

Les infractions comprennent le manque de transparence de l’entreprise envers ses clients quant à ses activités de vente de données (via des transferts vers son réseau de partenaires commerciaux) et l’absence d’un consentement valide.

Contexte :

Le défendeur est une société de marketing qui distribue des «boîtes roses» aux consommateurs. Ces boites incluent des échantillons, des offres spéciales et des fiches d’information destinées aux futurs parents (en particulier les mères enceintes). Les offres et les échantillons contenus dans les «boîtes roses» ont été mis à disposition du défendeur par le réseau de partenaires du défendeur.

Concernant les données à caractère personnel des (futures) mères collectées par le défendeur lorsque de nouveaux consommateurs s’inscrivaient, il s’agissait des données suivantes : le nom de la mère, le prénom de la mère, la date de naissance du bébé, le sexe du bébé, le nom du bébé, l’adresse e-mail, rue et numéro de maison, code postal et ville.

Ces données à caractère personnel étaient ensuite transmises par le défendeur à des tiers (dits «partenaires commerciaux structurels») en échange des offres et échantillons susmentionnés. Ces partenaires commerciaux étaient en fait des courtiers en données (data brokers) qui traitaient les données pour des campagnes de marketing et les vendaient à d’autres tiers.

Les faits :

La plaignante avait rempli un formulaire d’inscription auprès du défendeur – afin de recevoir une boîte rose – par lequel elle a autorisé le traitement de ses données à caractère personnel.

La plaignante a par la suite décidé de retirer son consentement car elle ne souhaitait plus être contactée par des tiers au sujet des promotions de produits de puériculture.

Cependant, même après avoir retiré son consentement, la plaignante a quand même reçu encore des appels téléphoniques indésirables de partenaires commerciaux du défendeur dans le cadre de certaines promotions.

La plaignante a alors décidé de déposer une plainte auprès de l’autorité belge de protection des données, alléguant que le défendeur avait transféré ses données à caractère personnel à des tiers, y compris des courtiers en données, sans avoir obtenu son consentement valable et sans fournir d’informations suffisantes par rapport au(x) traitement(s) envisagé(s) par le défendeur et les tiers auxquels ses données étaient transférées.

Discussion :

La discussion dans cette décision tourne principalement autour du (manque) d’informations données par le défendeur sur la vente et le traitement des données à caractère personnel par son réseau de partenaires commerciaux ainsi que sur la portée et la (absence de) validité du consentement donné par rapport au(x) traitement(s).

Décision :

Le service d’inspection et la chambre de contentieuse de la DPA belge ont estimé que les violations suivantes ont été commises par le défendeur :

1) Manque d’information et de transparence sur le(s) traitement(s) envisagés.

Le défendeur a enfreint l’article 5, paragraphe 1, a) du RGPD ainsi que l’article 13 (manque de transparence) car le défendeur louait et / ou vendait des données à caractère personnel des consommateurs à des fins commerciales (via ses partenaires commerciaux) sans informer les consommateurs de ces traitements d’une manière claire et compréhensible.

Un facteur aggravant est le fait que les “boîtes roses” ont été distribuées via des gynécologues et des hôpitaux combinés, ce qui aurait pu amener les clients à croire que l’initiative provenait du secteur public, et non d’une entreprise privée dont le cœur de métier est le commerce des données à caractère personnel.

2) Absence de consentement valide pour traiter les données.

L’article 6 du RGPD, en particulier l’article 6 (1) (a) et (f) du RGPD (consentement libre) a également été violé par le défendeur, car il ne pouvait y avoir de consentement libre, spécifique, éclairé et sans ambiguïté donné par les consommateurs vu que ce consentement était :

a) – clairement non informé/éclairé (sur les traitements ultérieurs par le réseau de partenaires);

b) – non spécifique (le consentement à la réception des boîtes impliquait automatiquement le transfert de données);

c) – non libre (car l’absence de consentement entraînait la perte de certains avantages).

3) Absence de mesures techniques et organisationnelles appropriées et période de conservation disproportionnée.

Violation de l’article 25 du RGPD, étant donné que le défendeur n’a pas pris les mesures techniques et organisationnelles appropriées pour garantir que seules les données personnelles nécessaires à chaque finalité spécifique du traitement sont traitées.

La période de conservation de 18 ans est disproportionnée par rapport au consentement initial et aux attentes raisonnables du plaignant et des autres parties concernées.

Pour le surplus, le défendeur n’avait pas conclu les contrats de sous-traitance nécessaires.

Sanctions :

Compte tenu du nombre de personnes concernées (la société traite des données relatives à 21,10% de la population belge), de la gravité de la violation et de la nature des données traitées (en particulier les données relatives aux enfants), la chambre contentieuse a décidé d’infliger au défendeur une amende de 50000 euros au défendeur et a ordonné à l’entreprise de se conformer au RGPD dans un délai de 6 mois.

Vous avez questions relatives à ce sujet, n’hésitez pas à me contacter en m’envoyant un courriel. à l’adresse indiquée dans la section “contact”.

Ce résumé fait partie des résumés que je publie régulièrement en qualité de “reporter national pour la Belgique sur GDPRhub , un outil développé par NOYB, l’association du célèbre activiste Max Schrems qui rassemble des comptes-rendus des toutes les décisions des autorités de protection des données européennes.

Plus d’informations :

noyb.eu – My Privacy is None of Your Business

GDPRhub

Sources :

APD/GBA – 04/2021 – GDPRhub

L’APD met un frein au commerce de données à caractère personnel lié aux fameuses “boîtes roses” | Autorité de protection des données (autoriteprotectiondonnees.be)

Belgian DPA imposes €50,000 Fine on Family Service | European Data Protection Board (europa.eu

fr_FRFrançais