Menu Close

The law of April 4, 2019 amending the Code of Economic Law with regard to abuse of economic dependence, unfair terms and unfair market practices between companies published in the Belgian Official Gazette on May 24, 2019.

This law aims to protect companies against unfair contractual terms which they cannot effectively oppose, for example given a situation of economic dependence.

1. The abuse of economic dependence

The new regulation introduces into Belgian law the notion of “economic dependence” which may be encountered, for example, in the relationship between a supplier and a retailer. A company finds itself in a situation of economic dependence on another when:

  1. it does not have a reasonably equivalent and available alternative within a reasonable time, on terms and at reasonable costs,
  2. (ice which allows the other party to impose on it services or conditions which could not be obtained under normal market circumstances.

The situation of economic dependence is not prohibited as such, but only the abuse of such a situation, since competition is likely to be affected on the Belgian market concerned or a substantial part of it.

The law provides several examples of practices that can be considered abuse of economic dependence:

  1. refusal of a sale, purchase or other trading conditions;
  2. the imposition (directly or indirectly) of purchase or sale prices or other unfair trading conditions;
  3. the limitation of production, outlets or technical development to the detriment of consumers;
  4. the fact of applying unequal conditions to equivalent services vis-à-vis the economic partners, thereby placing them at a competitive disadvantage;
  5. making the conclusion of contracts subject to acceptance by the economic partners of additional services which, by their nature or according to commercial usage, have no connection with the subject of such contracts.

The Competition Authority is responsible for monitoring compliance with these new rules. It can impose fines of up to 2% of the turnover of the company concerned, as well as penalties in the event of non-compliance with its decision. A party confronted with an abuse of economic dependence can also initiate an injunction before the Belgian courts in order to put an end to these practices.

The new rules against the abuse of economic dependence are inserted in Book IV of the Code of Economic Law entered into force in May 2020.

2. The prohibition of unfair commercial practices

The new regulations prohibit “deceptive” and “aggressive” business practices between companies.

The definition of deceptive and aggressive market practices draws on existing provisions prohibiting deceptive and aggressive practices in B2C relationships.

A commercial practice will be considered aggressive within the meaning of the law if “ in its factual context, taking into account all its characteristics and the circumstances, it alters or is likely to alter significantly, as a result of harassment, coercion, including the use of physical force, or influence unjustified, freedom of choice or conduct of the company with regard to the product and, therefore, causes it or is likely to cause it to make a decision relating to the transaction that it would not have taken otherwise ".

"Unjustified influence" is understood to mean the use by one company of a position of strength vis-à-vis another company in order to put pressure on the latter, even without resorting to physical force or threatening to do so, in such a way that his ability to make an informed decision is significantly limited.

3. The prohibition of unfair terms (B2B)

The prohibition of unfair terms has been known for many years in contracts concluded between a consumer and a professional. The legislator must have noted that, even in relations between companies, economic relations are not always balanced. Consequently, contractual freedom cannot systematically play fully. Companies are thus sometimes imposed clauses which they would never have accepted if they had been able to negotiate freely.

The new law applies to Belgian companies that export, including when the contract is subject to foreign law. Parliamentary work indeed indicates that the new rules aim to regulate the economic order and that as such, they fall into the category of overriding laws (from which it is not possible to contractually derogate). It will therefore not be sufficient to conclude a contract subject to German or Dutch law to escape the prohibition on unfair terms.

Regarding unfair terms in B2B relations, the legislator introduced three categories. These relate not only to the general conditions, but also to the actual conditions of the contract.

On the one hand, the legislator introduced a black list of four clauses which are, in all cases, prohibited. These are clauses which aim to:

  1. provide for an irrevocable commitment from the other party, while the performance of the company's services is subject to a condition the fulfillment of which depends on its sole will;
  2. give the company the unilateral right to interpret any clause of the contract;
  3. in the event of a conflict, have the other party renounce any means of recourse against the company;
  4. establish irrefutably the knowledge or adherence of the other party to clauses which it did not actually have the opportunity to take cognizance of before the conclusion of the contract.

In addition, the legislator has provided for a gray list of eight clauses which are presumed to be unfair unless proven otherwise. More specifically, these are clauses which aim to:

  1. authorize the company to unilaterally modify the price, characteristics or conditions of the contract without valid reason;
  2. tacitly extend or renew a fixed-term contract without specifying a reasonable period of termination;
  3. place, without consideration, the economic risk on one party when this is normally the responsibility of the other company or another party to the contract;
  4. to exclude or inappropriately limit the legal rights of one party, in the event of total or partial non-performance or defective performance by the other company of one of its contractual obligations;
  5. without prejudice to article 1184 of the Civil Code, bind the parties without specifying a reasonable period of termination;
  6. release the company from its responsibility because of its fraud, its serious fault or that of its employees or, except in cases of force majeure, because of any non-performance of the essential commitments which are the subject of the contract;
  7. limit the means of proof that the other party can use;
  8. set amounts of damages claimed in the event of non-performance or delay in performance of the obligations of the other party which clearly exceed the extent of the damage likely to be suffered by the company. 

It is important to stress that these clauses contain a reversal of the burden of proof and that a justification is therefore possible for this gray list. Furthermore, the question of unfairness will depend on all the concrete circumstances, including usage in the sector, market position, the circumstances surrounding the conclusion of the contract, the extent to which the terms are negotiated, etc.

Finally, the legislator inserts a third general category: “ any clause in a contract concluded between companies is abusive when, on its own or in combination with one or more other clauses, it creates a manifest imbalance between the rights and obligations of the parties ".

Violations of these three types of unfair terms do not depend on whether one is in a situation of economic dependence. Violations of this provision can only be invoked through the usual legal channels and not before the Belgian competition authorities (except in cases where the clauses should, in themselves, constitute an abuse of a dominant position or an abuse of a dependent position. economic).

Conclusion

With regard to unfair B2B clauses, the new prohibitions will only apply to contracts concluded, renewed or modified after December 31, 2020. They will not apply to contracts in progress which will have been concluded before this date. 

Companies (which have not yet done so) must nevertheless prepare and review all their contract models or T & Cs in light of these new rules.

VIf you have any questions relating to this subject, please do not hesitate to contact me by sending me an email.

Source : Law of April 4, 2019 amending the Code of Economic Law with regard to abuse of economic dependence, unfair terms and unfair market practices between companies, MB, May 24, 2019, P. 50066.

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Menu Fermer

Les clauses abusives B2B après la loi du 4 avril 2019.

La loi du 4 avril 2019 modifiant le Code de droit économique en ce qui concerne les abus de dépendance économique, les clauses abusives et les pratiques du marché déloyales entre entreprises publiée au Moniteur belge ce 24 mai 2019.

Cette loi a pour objectif de protéger les entreprises contre les clauses contractuelles abusives auxquelles elles ne peuvent pas s’opposer efficacement, par exemple compte tenu d’une situation de dépendance économique.

1. L’abus de dépendance économique

La nouvelle règlementation introduit en droit belge la notion de  « dépendance économique » qui peut se rencontrer, par exemple, dans la relation entre un fournisseur et un retailer. Une entreprise se retrouve dans une situation de dépendance économique par rapport à une autre lorsque :

  1. elle ne dispose pas d’alternative raisonnablement équivalente et disponible dans un délai, à des conditions et à des coûts raisonnables,
  2. (ice qui permet à l’autre partie de lui imposer des prestations ou des conditions qui ne pourraient être obtenues dans des circonstances normales de marché.

La situation de dépendance économique n’est pas interdite en tant que telle mais uniquement l’abus d’une telle situation, dès lors que la concurrence est susceptible d’être affectée sur le marché belge concerné ou une partie substantielle de celui-ci.

La loi fournit plusieurs exemples de pratiques pouvant être considérées comme des abus de dépendance économique :

  1. le refus d’une vente, d’un achat ou d’autres conditions de transaction ;
  2. l’imposition (de façon directe ou indirecte) des prix d’achat ou de vente ou d’autres conditions de transaction inéquitables ;
  3. la limitation de la production, des débouchés ou du développement technique au préjudice des consommateurs ;
  4. le fait d’appliquer à l’égard des partenaires économiques des conditions inégales à des prestations équivalentes, en leur infligeant de ce fait un désavantage dans la concurrence ;
  5. le fait de subordonner la conclusion de contrats à l’acceptation, par les partenaires économiques, de prestations supplémentaires qui, par leur nature ou selon les usages commerciaux, n’ont pas de lien avec l’objet de ces contrats.

L’Autorité de la concurrence est compétente pour contrôler le respect de ces nouvelles règles. Elle peut infliger des amendes allant jusqu’à 2% du chiffre d’affaires de l’entreprise concernée, ainsi que des astreintes en cas de non-respect de sa décision. Une partie confrontée à un abus de dépendance économique peut également engager une action en cessation devant les tribunaux belges afin de faire cesser ces pratiques.

Les nouvelles règles contre l’abus de dépendance économique sont insérées dans le livre IV du Code de droit économique sont entrées en vigueur au mois de mai 2020.

2. L’interdiction des pratiques commerciales déloyales

La nouvelle règlementation interdit les pratiques commerciales « trompeuses » et « agressives » entre les entreprises.

La définition des pratiques du marché trompeuses et agressives s’inspire des dispositions existantes interdisant les pratiques trompeuses et agressives dans les relations B2C.

Une pratique commerciale sera considérée comme agressive au sens de la loi si « dans son contexte factuel, compte tenu de toutes ses caractéristiques et des circonstances, elle altère ou est susceptible d’altérer de manière significative, du fait du harcèlement, de la contrainte, y compris le recours à la force physique, ou d’une influence injustifiée, liberté de choix ou de conduite de l’entreprise à l’égard du produit et, par conséquent, l’amène ou est susceptible de l’amener à prendre une décision relative à la transaction qu’elle n’aurait pas prise autrement ».

Il faut entendre par « influence injustifiée » l’utilisation par une entreprise d’une position de force vis-à-vis d’une autre entreprise de manière à faire pression sur celle-ci, même sans avoir recours à la force physique ou menacer de le faire, de telle manière que son aptitude à prendre une décision en connaissance de cause soit limitée de manière significative.

3. L’interdiction des clauses abusives (B2B)

L’interdiction des clauses abusives est connue depuis de longues années dans les contrats conclus entre un consommateur et un professionnel.  Le législateur a bien dû constater que, même dans les relations entre les entreprises, les rapports économiques ne sont pas toujours équilibrés.  Dès lors, la liberté contractuelle ne peut pas systématiquement jouer pleinement.  Des entreprises se voient ainsi parfois imposer des clauses qu’elles n’auraient jamais acceptées si elles avaient pu négocier librement.

La nouvelle loi s’applique aux entreprises belges qui exportent, y compris lorsque le contrat est soumis à un droit étranger.  Les travaux parlementaires indiquent en effet que les nouvelles règles visent à réguler l’ordre économique et qu’à ce titre, elles rentrent dans la catégorie des lois de police (auxquelles il n’est pas possible de déroger contractuellement).  Il ne suffira donc pas de conclure un contrat soumis au droit allemand ou au droit néerlandais pour échapper à l’interdiction des clauses abusives.

Pour ce qui concerne les clauses abusives dans les relations B2B, le législateur a introduit trois catégories. Celles-ci se rapportent non seulement aux conditions générales, mais aussi aux conditions mêmes du contrat.

D’une part, le législateur a introduit une liste noire de quatre clauses qui sont, dans tous les cas, interdites. Il s’agit de clauses qui ont pour objet de :

  1. prévoir un engagement irrévocable de l’autre partie, alors que l’exécution des prestations de l’entreprise est soumise à une condition dont la réalisation dépend de sa seule volonté;
  2. conférer à l’entreprise le droit unilatéral d’interpréter une quelconque clause du contrat;
  3. en cas de conflit, faire renoncer l’autre partie à tout moyen de recours contre l’entreprise;
  4. constater de manière irréfragable la connaissance ou l’adhésion de l’autre partie à des clauses dont elle n’a pas eu, effectivement, l’occasion de prendre connaissance avant la conclusion du contrat.

En outre, le législateur a prévu une liste grise de huit clauses qui sont présumées abusives sauf preuve contraire. Il s’agit plus précisément des clauses qui ont pour objet de :

  1. autoriser l’entreprise à modifier unilatéralement sans raison valable le prix, les caractéristiques ou les conditions du contrat ;
  2. proroger ou renouveler tacitement un contrat à durée déterminée sans spécification d’un délai raisonnable de résiliation ;
  3. placer, sans contrepartie, le risque économique sur une partie alors que celui-ci incombe normalement à l’autre entreprise ou à une autre partie au contrat ;
  4. exclure ou limiter de façon inappropriée les droits légaux d’une partie, en cas de non-exécution totale ou partielle ou d’exécution défectueuse par l’autre entreprise d’une de ses obligations contractuelles ;
  5. sans préjudice de l’article 1184 du Code civil, engager les parties sans spécification d’un délai raisonnable de résiliation ;
  6. libérer l’entreprise de sa responsabilité du fait de son dol, de sa faute grave ou de celle de ses préposés ou, sauf en cas de force majeure, du fait de toute inexécution des engagements essentiels qui font l’objet du contrat ;
  7. limiter les moyens de preuve que l’autre partie peut utiliser ;
  8. fixer des montants de dommages et intérêts réclamés en cas d’inexécution ou de retard dans l’exécution des obligations de l’autre partie qui dépassent manifestement l’étendue du préjudice susceptible d’être subi par l’entreprise. 

Il est important de souligner que ces clauses contiennent un renversement de la charge de la preuve et qu’une justification est dès lors possible pour cette liste grise. Par ailleurs, la question du caractère abusif sera tributaire de toutes les circonstances concrètes, en ce compris les usages dans le secteur, la position de marché, les circonstances entourant la conclusion du contrat, la mesure dans laquelle les clauses sont négociées, etc.

Le législateur insère, enfin, une troisième catégorie générale : « toute clause d’un contrat conclu entre entreprises est abusive lorsque, à elle seule ou combinée avec une ou plusieurs autres clauses, elle crée un déséquilibre manifeste entre les droits et obligations des parties ».

Les violations de ces trois types de clauses abusives ne dépendent pas de la question de savoir si l’on se trouve dans une situation de dépendance économique. Les violations de cette disposition peuvent seulement être invoquées au moyen des voies juridiques habituelles et non pas devant les autorités belges de la concurrence (sauf au cas où les clauses devraient, en soi, constituer un abus de position dominante ou un abus de position de dépendance économique).

Conclusion

En ce qui concerne les clauses abusives B2B, les nouvelles interdictions s’appliqueront uniquement aux contrats conclus, renouvelés, ou modifiés après le 31 décembre 2020.  Elles ne s’appliqueront pas aux contrats en cours qui auront été conclus avant cette date. 

Les entreprises (qui ne l’ont pas encore fait) doivent néanmoins se préparer et revoir tous leurs modèles de contrats ou CGV à l’aune de ces nouvelles règles.

Vous avez questions relatives à ce sujet, n’hésitez pas à me contacter en m’envoyant un courriel.

Source : Loi du 4 avril 2019 modifiant le Code de droit économique en ce qui concerne les abus de dépendance économique, les clauses abusives et les pratiques du marché déloyales entre entreprises, M.B., 24 mai 2019, P. 50066.

Please follow and like us:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)