Menu Close

From now on, anyone who searches for information on the Fisconetplus portal of the FPS Finance to complete their tax declaration will no longer have to use their Microsoft account.

This is the result of a provisional measure imposed by the ODA on the SPF. The APD has indeed ordered the SPF to suspend access to its Fisconetplus application through a Microsoft account.

Provisional inspection service measure :

It is the first time that the Inspection Service has decided on an interim measure.

The provisional measure is one of the powers provided by law for the ODA Inspection Service.

The Inspector-General and the inspectors can thus order the suspension, limitation or temporary freeze of data processing if this measure makes it possible to avoid a situation likely to cause serious, immediate and difficult to repair damage.

Provisional measures decided by the Inspection Service can last up to three months, which can be extended by a further three months at most.

Recommendation 01/2019 of February 6, 2019:

This decision follows the recommendation published in February 2019, by the Data Protection Authority concerning the illegality of an obligation to create a user account with Microsoft to consult public service applications.

It was clearly stated in the body of the text that this recommendation was intended to apply to all public services that plan to deploy similar applications using external partnerships.

Content of the recommendation:

The Authority considered in this recommendation on the one hand that making access to a commercial application (which only gives access to public information to its users) like Microsoft is contrary to the principles of data protection from the design and by default (article 25 of the GDPR).

Indeed, the Authority notes that in order to create an account, users must submit to Microsoft's privacy and cookies policy and its standard cookie settings. These standard settings do not respect these two principles because they let Microsoft collect a large series of data on its users.

The Authority also notes that the legal basis for this processing is not clearly stated by the public authority which requires recourse to the creation of an account.

The processing therefore does not comply with Article 6 of the GDPR as well as Articles 8 and 22 of the ECHR.

In addition, the principle of proportionality and legitimacy of the processing mentioned in article 5 of the GDPR is also ignored. as nothing seems to justify the necessity of this treatment. (The accessible information is only public information so it is not a priori necessary to have to create an account to access it.)

Finally, the Authority notes that the controller (the public authority) cannot discharge its own obligation to inform users (under Articles 13 and 14 of the GDPR) by using as it does a trading company to provide basic functionality.

In terms of cookies, the combination of a compulsory registration of the data subject, their compulsory acceptance of various cookies (including cookies implemented by third parties) and a very broad basic setting is contrary to the consent requirement listed in Article 129 of the LCE.

For these reasons, the APD concludes that the imposition by public authorities of the use of a Microsoft account to access an application that only makes public information available to its users and not personal data personal is contrary to the GDPR.

Conclusion:

In all cases, given the potential risks to the rights and freedoms of the persons concerned, in particular with regard to the security of the Platform (article 32 of the GDPR), the public authority should at least have conducted a relative impact assessment data protection before putting such a system in place.

By this provisional measure, the Data Protection Authority asserts itself and confirms its intention to fully use the prerogatives assigned to it by law.

If you have any questions relating to this subject, do not hesitate to contact me via the “contact me” section of the blog. or write an email.

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Menu Fermer

Mesure provisoire de l’Autorité de protection des données concernant l’obligation de créer un compte utilisateur Microsoft pour consulter des applications de services publics.

Désormais, toute personne qui recherchera des informations sur le portail Fisconetplus du SPF Finances pour compléter sa déclaration fiscale ne devra plus utiliser son compte Microsoft.

Ceci est le résultat d’une mesure provisoire imposée par l’APD au SPF. L’APD a en effet ordonné au SPF de suspendre l’accès à son application Fisconetplus au travers d’un compte Microsoft.

Mesure provisoire du Service d’Inspection :

C’est la première fois que le Service d’Inspection décide d’une mesure provisoire.

La mesure provisoire est l’une des compétences prévues par la loi pour le Service d’Inspection de l’APD.

L’Inspecteur-Général et les inspecteurs peuvent ainsi ordonner la suspension, la limitation ou le gel temporaire de traitements de données si cette mesure permet d’éviter une situation susceptible de causer un préjudice grave, immédiat et difficilement réparable.

Les mesures provisoires décidées par le Service d’Inspection peuvent durer jusqu’à trois mois, prolongeable d’une nouvelle durée de trois mois au maximum.

Recommandation 01/2019 du 6 février 2019 :

Cette décision fait suite à la recommandation publiée en février 2019, par lAutorité de protection des données concernant l’illégalité d’une obligation de créer un compte utilisateur chez Microsoft pour consulter des applications de services publics.

Il était bien précisé dans le corps du texte que cette recommandation avait vocation à s’appliquer à l’égard de tous les services publics qui envisagent de déployer des applications similaires à l’aide de partenariat externes.

Contenu de la recommandation :

L’Autorité a consideré dans cette recommandation d’une part que le fait de subordonner l’accès à une application (qui ne fait que donner accès à des information publiques à ses utilisateurs) commerciale comme Microsoft est contraire aux principes de protection des données dès la conception et par défaut (article 25 du RGPD).

En effet, l’Autorité remarque que pour créer un compte les utilisateurs doivent se soumettre à la politique vie privée et cookies de Microsoft et à ses paramétrages standards en matière de cookies. Ces paramétrage standards ne respectent pas ces deux principes car ils laissent Microsoft collecter une large série de données sur ses utilisateurs..

L’Autorité remarque d’autre part que la que la base légale de ce traitement n’est pas clairement énoncée par l’autorité publique qui impose le recours à la création d’un compte.

Le traitement ne se conforme donc pas à l’article 6 du RGPD ainsi qu’aux articles 8 et 22 de la CEDH.

Par ailleurs, le principe de proportionallité et de légitimité des traitements repris à l’article 5 du RGPD est également méconnu. vu que rien ne semble justifier la nécessité de ce traitement. (Les informations accessibles sont uniquement des informations publiques il n’est donc a priori pas nécessaire de devoir créer un compte pour y accèder.)

Enfin, l’Autorité remarque que le responsable du traitement (l’utorité publique) ne peut pas se décharger de sa propre obligation d’information envers les utilisateurs (en vertu des articles 13 et 14 du RGPD) en recourant comme il le fait à une société commerciale pour proposer la fonctionnalité de base.

En matière de cookies, la combinaison d’un enregistrement obligatoire de la personne concernée , de son acceptation obligatoire de divers cookies (dont des cookies implémentés par des tiers) et d’un paramétrage de base très large est contraire à l’exigence de consentement figurant à l’article 129 de la LCE.

Pour ces raisons, l’APD conclut que l’imposition, par des autorités publiques, de l’utilisation d’un compte Microsoft pour accèder à une application qui ne met à disposition de ses utilisateurs uniquement des informations publiques et pas des données à caractère personnel est contraire aux RGPD.

Conclusion :

Dans tous les cas, vu les risques potentiels pour les droits et libertés des personnes concernées, notamment en ce qui concerne la sécurité de la Plateforme (article 32 du RGPD), l’autorité publique aurait du à minima mener une analyse d’impact relative à la protection des données avant de mettre un tel système en place.

Par cette mesure provisoire, l’Autorité de protection des données s’affirme et confirme son intention d’utiliser pleinement les prérogatives qui lui sont attribuées par la loi.

Vous avez questions relatives à ce sujet, n’hésitez pas à me contacter via la section “me contacter” du blog. ou écrire un mail.

Please follow and like us:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)